RSS Feed
Ignatius Dance Team to Perform at UIC Basketball Game - 12.17.16

Jesuit Connections Networking Event and Service Fair 11.15.16

Register today by CLICKING HERE

Fr. Arturo Sosa, SJ, Elected 31st Superior General of the Society of Jesus

Father Arturo Sosa Abascal, SJ, of Venezuela was elected the 31st Superior General of the Society of Jesus at the Jesuits’ General Congregation 36 (GC 36) today in Rome. Fr. Sosa is the first Latin American Superior General of the Society of Jesus, the largest religious order of priests and brothers in the Catholic Church. Read more by CLICKING  HERE.

Spohnholtz ’15 Takes Part in 9/11 Ceremony

Last month, Mack Spohnholtz ’15, a Youngster Midshipman at the USNA, took part in a 9/11 anniversary ceremony and was honored to hold our nation's flag at the New York Jets game just moments after President Obama offered some words and a moment of silence. Spohnholtz ’15 can be seen in the photo on the far right.


National Merit Semifinalists Named

Please join us in congratulating our 2017 National Merit Semifinalists. These talented students now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million that will be offered next spring. The students can be seen below with College Counselor, Kurt Schmidt, Principal, Brianna Latko, and School President, Fr. Michael Caruso, SJ. The student winners are: Emma Cahill, Patrick Caproni (not pictured), Olivia Coletta, Edward Converse, Gillian Gagnard (not pictured), Jack Larkin, Anna Podkowski, and Zachary Verghese.

Parent Organization Meeting – 9.13.16 at 6:30 PM

Fr. Caruso, SJ Will be Speaking  Come to the Parent Organization Meeting (In the McLaughlin Room) on Tuesday, September 13th. The meeting will run from 6:30-7:30pm. The featured speaker for the event will 

San Ignacio Society's Fiesta de San Ignacio

Over 70 alumni, students, parents, and friends celebrated the inaugural San Ignacio Society's Fiesta de San Ignacio on July 31, 2016. The day started with Mass at Holy Family Church followed by a reception in the Anthony Fornelli '51 Lounge.   Alumni Members of the Society brought up the gifts (Dan Trevino, Julio Paz, Sonia Antolec, and Simon Weffer).

Watch Dave Kavanaugh's '57 Dei Gloriam Award Speech at Graduation

Please CLICK HERE to watch the speech Dave Kavanaugh '57 gave at graduation in May after accepting the school's 2016 Dei Gloriam Award. 

Spring Sport Teams Win IHSA Team Academic Awards

Congratulations to the following teams for receiving the IHSA Team Academic Award. Each team maintained a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.0 or higher this Spring. Girls Water Polo – 3.44; Girls Softball – 3.69; Baseball – 3.29; Boys Tennis – 3.58; Boys Track & Field – 3.25; Boys Volleyball – 3.50; Boys Water Polo – 3.37; Girls Soccer – 3.56; Girls Track – 3.56.

Sierra '16 Nominated for Best High School Actress in IL

Please join us in congratulating Emily Sierra '16 for recently being selected as 1 of 12 nominees for Best Actress in a Musical for the Illinois High School Musical Theatre awards. The awards are giving through Broadway in Chicago. You can see more at:

Fr. Caruso, SJ Blesses Robotics Team Robot

CLICK HERE to watch school President, Fr. Michael Caruso, SJ bless the Robotics Team robot (Wolfbyte) ahead of their inaugural robotics competition in Peoria this weekend. Saint Ignatius Robotics is one of over 3,000 teams worldwide who compete in the FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC), an event designed to involve high school students in robotics. Each year, teams build robots to compete in that year’s game. See the team website at: 

Children from El Salvador Visit Ignatius

Children from the Nuestros Pequeños Hermanos orphanage in El Salvador recently visited Saint Ignatius. They stopped by some Spanish classes and also presented their folk music and dance to about 200 students in the 3rd floor gym during activity period. Special thanks to Kelly, Erin and Patrick Doyle for establishing the relationship with the organization and inviting them to share their culture with our school.

Copyright 2016 Saint Ignatius College Prep